Posted on

September 2016 Newsletter pg 4

Current updates? For more, scroll below…

If only it were that easy lol-working on a few new drawings.  More about that below…

As I have said time after time, it helps to nail who by what when you are drawing-hence the face shape. On a personal level, I am trying to nail realism. I know what to do, it’s just how to apply them. This what I have so far in terms of it coming out the best through the process of scanning it (aka; some of the detail has been lost, but you can still tell who it is which is kind of the idea). Now, these pics mostly have everything but the eyes completed. But anyway…

(From personal opinion anyway) of Ranking:

Person Best of (Embellishment of because the photo was very low quality) Color (w/ cartoon-like quality):Zooey Deschanel

 

Zooey Deschanel After Sketch-Here is Zooey Deschanel from Elf with her usual black jet hair, sparkly blue eyes and her perfetly styled bangs and cool, winter toned skin. Just a tip: Always make sure you pencils are sharpened. Dull supplies=Dull results, moments. Aka; I would've never drawn her eyes that perfect without sharpening the pencil. This was the first one where I was really happy with the result, starting to see it from afar.


 

Personal Best in terms of Detail (Able to see who it is from far away) goes to: Paul Walker (R.I.P)-Okay slight exaggeration, on purpose, I embellished and made him look a little younger. Also, if I had drawn the shape any longer he would start to look like Cam Gigandet

anagpaulandcam

I had just made a lookalike of the two and almost drew one for the other. Coincidence? I find to disassociate, it helps to know the shape. In this case, Paul’s is almost wider-square like Bradley Cooper. But more about Paul, her is the drawing below…

 

Paul


 

 

Personal Best in terms of Manipulating Objects Original Color (Using Gradient from top to bottom, using yellow-green and blue-black) giving a sense of in-between stage of  Cartoon-Realism, almost more surreal in the background looking at the skull. This one goes to…

Emily Deschanel

Emily Deschanel After Sketch-Who knew the skull would turn out so well? First of all, skulls appear more elongated but like the live version of head, the face if you look closer after the extention of lines, the space how they formation of shape is occupied round-flat you can tell what shape of face the person is like Emily here with her square shape. Just like the real Emily from Bones I start to see similar others such as Alexis Bledel-Sara Paxton both with a wide-almost rounder shape, her sister Zooey Deschanel and somewhat like Bonnie Wright and Olivia Wilde with a much wider, flatter shape. Blending the color really helped because in the original photo there was too much yellow going on so I improvised having a better control and created a gradient from yellow green-blue gray using black and white and color at the same time.


 

 

Personal Best Surreal Piece: Emily Blunt– In a word, more complex. I start to manipulate the use of color and used and in between use of expression. Its funny because the color looks like a color of an underwater sea witch/ice queen which Emily has recently played herself. Also, the use of the color in the background with how some of the pictures appear to be floating give the sense she is either in a frozen/ice capsule or underwater. This makes it more surreal. As far the expression goes, I decided to challenge myself and draw it just like the photo with a hidden smile in the end of one of her movies where her frown fades and she starts to smile, a hidden smile aka; She may have played a mean queen/witch once or twice in the past, but looking at the calm nature of smile you can see her heart is not ice cold, is human too.

Emily Blunt After Sketch Emily from Devil Wears Prada was the first movie I ever saw Blunt in. You can see her fake red-auburn hair blended with the blues-greens.This is the after drawing. I have yet to finish the drawing and am debating on drawing the eyeshadow on or not. It almost looks like she's underwater or inside a frozen block of ice which ifs funny because the color I used shows just that. This is one of my top favorites personally. You can see her almost oval shape with the elongation of face and flatter chin here.

 

 

20th Century Fox Home Entertainment emily blunt the devil wears prada devil wears prada


Personal Best Adobe Illustrator-like Piece: Between Cartoon-Realism, nothing surreal with concise lines and use of color goes to: Eva Green. Now, the scanner didn’t pick all the color up, so for that reason I may enhance it, just to see it better.Still, you can see some of the silver-gray and the black and blue used for the straps of the dress and hair.

Eva Green After Drawing-I surprised myself with this one. No eye color eyt-a little hesitant but the real copy outside the digital world look so sharp, precise and definite with the person that it looked like something you create within the digital world like on Adobe Illustrator. In addition, the differences I have found the differences between digital and manual drawing is that the image drawn on the computer is so much well-sharper, precise and definite. I drew the nose between two perspectives: The front and the side when I was looking at one. Since I knew the shape therefore shape of the nose, I drew a little bit of both front and side perspective while the original picture just shows the side of the nose covered. Seeing she looks like so many different people combined I found, but at the same time much different with her oval shape I found had not associated Eva for anyone else and drawing her was easy. The main focus was the detail and what was great was my initiative in my mind was perfeclty executed on paper.

So far, I have figured out color in a more controlled method. Now, it is just more specific in terms of how I chose to use it for an ongoing theme or referred to as “Color scheme”. But, I refer to just call it a (color) theme, shorter name. Anyway,  looking at these most recent ones in the process I am figuring out not so much who or what anymore but how to nail that concept yet to be mastered. It’s not so much of a conceptual deal, more figuring out what makes it tick in the process. Or, what most people may refer to as…

I have figured it out by looking at the subject matter of portrait: Who? What? When? Where? How?…

Exactly! That is how I have figured out to nail specifics in terms of realism. Once I figure that out I will finally have some realistic looking pieces.

So, have been working on those and posts just the same. The timeline post (featured on the main page under “Developments”, is still in the making. Most of it is available and I am releasing bit by bit seeing its a big concept which needs slow introducing to.

Back Next

About keh1016

I am going to Greenville Tech, majoring in Design, have thought and studied technical, analytical, full-proof methods/techniques for 20 years on the subject and consider every angle before publishing my posts. Then, utilize them in a fun, personal way using engaging activities critical thinking, up close and personal level on the subject-even using my own pictures for a comparison, on the subject of faces. Face it-when it comes to drawing the people, study compare and draw or utilize in a different way. Hey, use it or lose it right? Also, you can contact me via comment or the tumblr page available on the bottom menu. Thanks for visiting.

I will approve or respond to your comment as soon as I can. I appreciate the input. Thank you for reading and thank you for your comment and for visiting. Love the input!

