Posted on

“When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a means you can remove me from that service?”

Even if not a major computer programmer, I am doing my best to figure this out…

Hmmm 5

On The Lookout

I’m sorry, I looked into this matter myself, am doing some research on it and working on it. That is still an obstacle I have yet to get by…

 

 

 

 

Basically, I have figured it out for the most part.

This is what I have gathered is happening in two different perspectives involving spam:

  1. This is wordpress’ way of entrapping spam by seeing how committed people are to joining. They use this answer to determine if the person is regular user or a scammer using spam emails: A user usually confirms once while a spammer confirms about four times as much using the same email account receiving more information to be able to hack someone’s email –good for the user

 

 


2. This is spam’s way of watching people’s activity of blogging and email and later coming into people’s email pretending to be an email confirmation from the site that will trap the user into opening their spam, hacking their email informationbad for the user.


Either way, I figured out there are two scenarios in this cat & mouse chase…

The spam being the cat hunting down the main ones affiliated with the mice-the users.

Or, the spam being mouse getting caught in the act of gathering what they desire.

 

So far,  I don’t know exactly which reason.

I will confirm this issue in the in the future and if both scenarios are…

or

 

Recently, looking into this matter further…

I believe it is the first reason (intended to keep spam out, good for user

 

unless there is a rat, spammer on the wordpress end which I highly doubt).

What I have found out so far is I think is that notifications could be turned off only by the original administrator user who left the comment which is good.

Why is that good?…

If that is the case, that would be good and great news!

  • It would be beneficial for readers that the original commentator would indeed have the power to turn the email notification off in the setting panel.
  • That way they are not waiting on the other end of the line for someone who may or may not have the power/authority to do so while having the power to stop it themselves. 

Now, I am not 100% sure, but

I have a hunch…

and if this is true, I believe this feature can be turned off in the Discussions-Settings section. Even if it isn’t true I have found an alternative: A plug-in install can help stop that.

Personally, plug-ins may not my forte, but at least that’s one option to consider.

techincal difficulties

As far as who has control to turn it off, it can be turned off. How exactly?

I have just confirmed which reason and have figured out how to go about solving this issue. It can be solved to a certain extent due to not having certain authority therefore lack of control of these notifications. 

For more recent developments about this issue, click here.

I have solved this for the most part finding an off-switch, if you will.

If you are still having problems…

I believe you are one of the unlucky few this is affecting.

More about this problem below…

Until now, not knowing in the past how to solve the problem, now knowing how they are due to circumstances beyond my control, I apologize for the unfortunate inconvenience you may have in the past and hope that this doesn’t continue in the future.

Hope you have the power to fight back and stop it yourself, good luck.

For more FAQ click Back.

Back

About keh1016

I am going to Greenville Tech, majoring in Design, have thought and studied technical, analytical, full-proof methods/techniques for 20 years on the subject and consider every angle before publishing my posts. Then, utilize them in a fun, personal way using engaging activities critical thinking, up close and personal level on the subject-even using my own pictures for a comparison, on the subject of faces. Face it-when it comes to drawing the people, study compare and draw or utilize in a different way. Hey, use it or lose it right? Also, you can contact me via comment or the tumblr page available on the bottom menu. Thanks for visiting.

10 responses to ““When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a means you can remove me from that service?”

  1. source

    Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?

    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style
    seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

  2. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch
    out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  3. penalista

    Highly energetic article, I enjoyed that bit.
    Will there be a part 2?

    Like

  4. Great delivery. Sound arguments. Keep up the good spirit.

    Like

  5. Hi my family member! I would like to claim that this post is amazing, good developed plus arrive and about
    all essential infos. I would like to read a lot more content like this .

    Like

  6. Howdy! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you
    if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and
    look forward to new posts.

    Like

  7. This has actually been one of the top articles i have checked out. It was actually really informative.Looking ahead for a lot more blogs of this particular in near coming future

    Like

  8. I regard something truly special in this internet site.

    Like

  9. acne

    Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

  10. Hubert

    There’s certainly a great deal to know about this subject.

    I really like all the points you have made.

    Like

I will approve or respond to your comment as soon as I can. I appreciate the input. Thank you for reading and thank you for your comment and for visiting. Love the input!

